Cover Bernstein: Wonderful Town

Album info



Label: LSO Live

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: London Symphony Orchestra & Sir Simon Rattle

Composer: Leonard Bernstein (1918–1990)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990): Wonderful Town:
  • 1No. 1, Overture05:10
  • Act I:
  • 2No. 2. Christopher Street05:05
  • 3No. 3. Ohio03:42
  • 4No. 4. Conquering New York04:11
  • 5No. 5. One Hundred Easy Ways to Lose a Man03:48
  • 6No. 6. What a Waste03:40
  • 7No. 8. A Little Bit in Love03:09
  • 8No. 9. Pass the Football04:04
  • 9No. 10. Conversation Piece04:01
  • 10No. 11. A Quiet Girl04:04
  • 11No. 12. Conga!03:47
  • 12No. 13: Entr'acte03:50
  • Act II:
  • 13No. 14. My Darlin' Eileen03:54
  • 14No. 15. Swing!05:24
  • 15No. 16. Quiet Incidental00:49
  • 16No. 16a. Ohio (Reprise)01:24
  • 17No. 17. It's Love03:31
  • 18No. 18. Ballet at the Village Vortex02:47
  • 19No. 19. Wrong Note Rag02:22
  • 20No. 19a. It's Love (Reprise)01:27
  • (Bonus Track)
  • 21Wonderful Town, Act I: No. 12. Conga! (Audience Participation Version) 03:48
  • Total Runtime01:13:57

Info for Bernstein: Wonderful Town

Sir Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra pay homage to former LSO President Leonard Bernstein with a new recording of Wonderful Town that captures the energy and excitement of sold-out performances from December 2017.

Bernstein’s five-time Tony award-winning musical follows sisters Ruth and Eileen on their quest to make it big, pursuing careers in writing and acting from their cramped basement apartment in New York’s bohemian Greenwich Village. Fresh from rural Ohio, the sisters end up getting more than they bargained for, realising that life in the Big Apple is not as glamourous as it may seem.

A bright and cheery love letter to the city that never sleeps and the colourful characters inhabiting it, Wonderful Town draws on Fields and Chodorov’s 1940 play My Sister Eileen, which itself is based on a series of autobiographical short storied by the ‘real-life’ Ruth McKenney.

Bernstein’s infectious score includes classic numbers such as ‘Ohio’, ‘One Hundred Easy Ways’, and ‘A Little Bit in Love’, as well as a riotous conga that had delighted audiences dancing in the aisles of the Barbican hall.

Danielle de Niese, soprano (Eileen)
Alysha Umphress, vocals (Ruth)
Nathan Gunn, baritone (Bob Baker)
Duncan Rock, baritone (Wreck)
London Symphony Orchestra
London Symphony Chorus
Sir Simon Rattle, conductor

No biography found.

Booklet for Bernstein: Wonderful Town

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO