Seal (Deluxe Edition) (Remastered) Seal

Album info



Label: Rhino/Warner Records

Genre: Pop

Subgenre: Pop Rock

Artist: Seal

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Bring It On (2024 Remaster)03:57
  • 2Prayer for the Dying (2024 Remaster)05:30
  • 3Dreaming in Metaphors (2024 Remaster)05:51
  • 4Don't Cry (2024 Remaster)06:18
  • 5Fast Changes (2024 Remaster)05:42
  • 6Kiss From a Rose (2024 Remaster)04:47
  • 7People Asking Why (2024 Remaster)04:45
  • 8Newborn Friend (2024 Remaster)04:04
  • 9If I Could (2024 Remaster)04:16
  • 10I'm Alive (2024 Remaster)04:01
  • 11Bring It On (Reprise) [2024 Remaster]01:19
  • 12Bring It On (Alternate Version)05:35
  • 13Reality04:34
  • 14Prayer for the Dying (Alternate Version)05:30
  • 15Kiss From a Rose (Alternate Version)05:10
  • 16Fast Changes (Alternate Version)05:41
  • 17Newborn Friend (Alternate Version)03:59
  • 18I'm Alive (Alternate Version)04:09
  • 19Don't Cry (Alternate Version)06:22
  • 20People Asking Why (Alternate Version)05:20
  • 21Dreaming in Metaphors (Alternate Version)05:04
  • 22If I Could (Alternate Version)03:52
  • 23Love Is Powerful03:04
  • 24Manic Depression (with Jeff Beck)05:12
  • 25Blues in 'E'03:42
  • 26The Wind Cries Mary03:53
  • 27Fly Like an Eagle04:14
  • Total Runtime02:05:51

Info for Seal (Deluxe Edition) (Remastered)

The Grammy®-Winning Singer’s Quintuple-Platinum 1991 self-titled debut gets the Deluxe treatment...

Seal took the world by storm in 1991 when “Crazy” – the lead single from his self-titled debut album – cracked the Top 10 in the U.S., U.K., and across Europe. In the singer-songwriter’s native U.K., the album debuted at #1 and later won Best British Album at the Brit Awards. Three decades later, Seal’s songs continue to resonate across multiple generations of music fans. The Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) also recently announced that sales for Seal have reached five million copies, officially granting the album quintuple platinum status.

The Deluxe Edition collects additional gems from that era, including the B-side "Blues In E," a cover of Steve Miller Band's "Fly Like An Eagle" from the Space Jam soundtrack, and a version of "Manic Depression" that Seal recorded with guitar virtuoso Jeff Beck for Stone Free: A Tribute To Jimi Hendrix.


Digitally remastered

When Seal was a teenager in England, a new wave of American soul turned his head.

“I remember songs like ‘Love T.K.O.’ and ‘Wishing on a Star’ and ‘Love Don’t Live Here Anymore’ — I just remember those songs being so unique-sounding when they came on the radio,” he says. “They had a big impact on me, because they were just very different from a lot of R&B that we were hearing. They were huge influences on my life and my outlook on writing music when I was growing up.”

Seal pays loving homage to that vibrant time in his own musical life with Soul 2, his eighth studio album, bringing his immense talents and deep sensibilities to songs that were coming out of Detroit, Memphis and especially Philadelphia, a sound that in England became known as Northern Soul. Working with producer Trevor Horn (who launched Seal’s career and produced his first four albums) and on four songs David Foster (who produced Seal’s first foray into the classics catalog, the international hit 2008 album Soul, and 2010‘s Commitment), Seal at once internalizes and evokes the spirit of such musical giants as Marvin Gaye, Teddy Pendergrass, Smokey Robinson, Bill Withers, the Spinners and the O’Jays.

Recording was done in settings ranging from elaborate orchestra sessions to a few vocals performed in Horn’s garage. The result is a variety of inventive textures, maximizing the spirit of both the songs and the singer. Support came from a wealth of all-star musicians, including Horn on bass and guitar, Foster on keyboards, with orchestral and brass arrangements by Pete Murray, Julian Hinton and Foster.

Seal’s first Soul album captured, by-and-large, the spirit of the ‘60s, with songs of Sam Cooke (a glorious version of “A Change Is Gonna Come”), Otis Redding among others, selling 3 million copies worldwide and standing as the top-selling album of the decade in France. Soul 2 leans more to the ‘70s, digging deep into a time in which artists explored new heights of personal expression and cultural openness with equal measures of inventive creativity and populist immediacy. As a set it features love songs (the Chi-Lites’ “Oh Girl,” Smokey Robinson & the Miracles’ “Ooo Baby Baby”), out-of-love songs (Pendergrass’ “Love T.K.O.,” Rose Royce’s “Love Don’t Live Here Anymore”) and some that are both (the Spinners’ “I’ll Be Around”).

And threading through it there are songs born of the shifting mores and cultural contours of the times that, in turn, helped define the era (Gaye’s iconic “What’s Going On,” the O’Jays’ angry “Backstabbers”). Where Sam Cooke’s “A Change Is Gonna Come” was the emotional center of the first Soul set, a bridge between the civil rights movement and the surge of social consciousness in the U.S. in the late ‘00s, such Soul 2 songs as Gaye’s indelible “What’s Going On” and Withers’ “Lean on Me” bridge their era with today’s uncertainties.

“It was something that we felt we wanted to do, but not in the typical way, so we went more for sort of connoisseurs’ choices rather than the obvious hits,” he says. “Essentially it’s an album of love songs. However it’s such as my habit that there has to be something that inspires me on a social-comment level and there has to be something that inspires me on a — it’s such an overused term, but on a spiritual level.”

As a set, they show a time that defies capsulizing and cliches, a time of complex emotions and issues. And it allows Seal to expand the range and talents he’s shown throughout his career, on such hits as his international Top 10 1990 debut “Crazy” and the 1995 U.S. No. 1 “A Kiss From a Rose,” which earned him Grammy Awards for song of the year, record of the year and best male pop vocal performance.

“When it came to making Soul 2 I decided not to go for the obvious hits, if you like, or more songs of that earlier period. Instead we went for songs that were popular in England when I was growing up and take a slightly different approach in terms of the actual sound, hence Trevor Horn’s involvement.”

Horn, also born and raised in England, shared Seal’s great affection for this material and brought in his sense for engaging musical tapestries that have fueled not just Seal but Yes (as both producer and member), Robbie Williams, Jeff Beck, Pet Shop Boys, Paul McCartney and many others.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO