The Complete Prestige 10-Inch LP Collection (Remastered) Thelonious Monk

Cover The Complete Prestige 10-Inch LP Collection (Remastered)

Album info



Label: Universal Music

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Hard Bop

Artist: Thelonious Monk

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Little Rootie Tootie03:08
  • 2Sweet And Lovely03:37
  • 3Bye-Ya02:48
  • 4Monk's Dream03:08
  • 5Trinkle, Tinkle02:52
  • 6These Foolish Things02:49
  • 7Bemsha Swing03:12
  • 8Reflections02:50
  • 9Friday The Thirteenth10:32
  • 10Let's Call This05:08
  • 11Think Of One05:47
  • 12We See05:16
  • 13Smoke Gets In Your Eyes04:34
  • 14Locomotive06:24
  • 15Hackensack05:14
  • 16Work05:19
  • 17Nutty05:18
  • 18Blue Monk07:40
  • 19Just A Gigolo03:05
  • 20The Way You Look Tonight05:14
  • 21I Want To Be Happy07:43
  • 22More Than You Know10:49
  • Total Runtime01:52:27

Info for The Complete Prestige 10-Inch LP Collection (Remastered)

Celebrating 100 years of Thelonious Monk: includes A Collective Personnel Of: Sonny Rollins, Art Blakey, Max Roach, Gary Mapp, Julius Watkins, Percy Heath, Willie Jones, Ray Copeland, Frank Foster, Curly Russell, Tommy Potter And Art Taylor.

Craft Recordings, the Catalog Division of Concord Music, is proud to announce the release of Thelonious Monk's The Complete Prestige 10-Inch LP Collection. Due out December 15th, the limited-edition album set includes all five of the 10" vinyl LPs which the pianist recorded for the jazz label, spanning 1952 to 1954.

The audio has been carefully restored and remastered by Joe Tarantino from the original analog tapes. Rounding out the collection is a booklet with new liner notes by Robin D. G. Kelley, author of Thelonious Monk: The Life and Times of an American Original.

Thelonious Sphere Monk (1917-1982), who would have turned 100 this year, remains one of the most highly regarded jazz artists in history, known for his unique style on and off the piano. Monk was a rule-breaker, pushing the limits of his genre, with his dissonant chords, unconventional melodies and progressive rhythms. Initially dismissed an eccentric by the musical elite, Monk stood his ground, and came to be celebrated for his complexities; considered by many to be a genius.

However, in the early '50s, the artist was still struggling to find critical and commercial acceptance. In his liner notes, Robin D. G. Kelley refers to this era as the "golden years in terms of [Monk's] creative output" but, he adds, "these were also dark times." Following an unjust run-in with the law, the jazz musician's cabaret card was revoked, preventing him from performing at New York clubs, and restricting his income. The artist's fortune began to change, though, in 1952, whenPrestige Records' founder Bob Weinstock offered Monk a recording contract. Weeks later, the Thelonious Monk Trio ̶ consisting of Art Blakey (as well as Max Roach on select tracks) on drums and Gary Mapp on bass, went to work in the studio, with a young Ira Gitler as producer. The resulting 10-inch LP release wasThelonious. By the fall of 1953, Monk returned to the studio, this time with a quintet, for Thelonious Monk Quintet Blows For LP, featuring Sonny Rollins on tenor saxophone. Thelonious Monk Quintetand Thelonious Plays followed in 1954. In the final 10-inch LP in this collection, recorded in October of 1954, Monk was actually a last-minute replacement for Elmo Hope at a Sonny Rollins session. But he ultimately received co-billing on the resultant 10" LP release, Sonny Rollins and Thelonious Monk. Also produced by Gitler, the LP includes an 11-minute jam of Vincent Youmans' "More Than You Know" which, as Kelley puts it, became "the session's masterpiece, a sublime dialogue between two great masters of modern music."

These early albums in The Complete Prestige 10-Inch LP Collection offer an intriguing look into this distinctive and resolute artist before he found full acclaim and acceptance, and feature an impressive collective personnel that includes some of jazz's finest. "Listening to these tracks more than sixty years after they were recorded, it's stunning how compelling, modern and original Monk's music still sounds, even through the filter of 21st-century ears," observes the collection's producer, Nick Phillips. "That's the mark of a true musical genius, indeed."

Digitally remastered

No biography found.

Booklet for The Complete Prestige 10-Inch LP Collection (Remastered)

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO