Theories Of Emptiness Evergrey

Album info



Label: Napalm Records Handels GmbH

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Metal

Artist: Evergrey

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 13.20
  • 1Falling From The Sun04:15
  • 2Misfortune03:20
  • 3To Become Someone Else05:40
  • 4Say04:22
  • 5Ghost Of My Hero05:50
  • 6We Are The North05:09
  • 7One Heart05:07
  • 8The Night Within03:48
  • 9Cold Dreams (feat. Jonas Renkse, Salina Englund)06:46
  • 10Our Way Through Silence04:41
  • 11A Theory Of Emptiness02:07
  • Total Runtime51:05

Info for Theories Of Emptiness

After more than 30 years of existence, Gothenburg's finest metal masters EVERGREY are far away from slowing things down. The five-piece, led by founder, singer and guitarist Tom S. Englund, will release its fourteenth studio album, Theories Of Emptiness, on June 7, 2024 via Napalm Records. Without any doubt, the new album marks one of the most dynamic records the band has ever crafted throughout their impressive career. Theories Of Emptiness was produced by Tom S. Englund and Jonas Ekdahl, and was mixed by Adam "Nolly" Getgood (ex-Periphery), who worked closely with the band from the start - bringing out the vividness of the album’s overall sonic profile. Rounding out the album’s production, mastering was helmed by Thomas “Plec” Johansson (Soilwork, The Night Flight Orchestra, Onslaught, The Gems, Eleine and many more).

Since releasing their first album, The Dark Discovery, in 1998, EVERGREY have gifted their devotees 13 studio records depicting dark, emotional imagery supported by progressive and heavy melodic metal elements. Theories of Emptiness follows its chart-topping and critically acclaimed predecessor, 2022’s A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament), which entered charts worldwide at #3 in Sweden (Metal), ranked #5 on the Top New Artist Albums charts in the United States, entered #7 in Finland and #12 in Germany.

“For us, progression is paramount”, states Tom S. Englund when discussing the eleven track opus, Theories of Emptiness. “We're dedicated to ensuring that our music remains innovative and avoids stagnation. With each album, we strive to introduce something new — a unique flavor, a different key or chord, fresh voices in our writing, or innovative production techniques.” In fact, no stone has been left unturned. Tracks are created to balance each-other mutually: from the aggressive tones of “Misfortune“ contrasting the light-hearted opening of “To Become Someone Else“, to the ballad “Ghost of My Hero“ leading into the furious riffs of “We Are The North“. Album opener “Falling From The Sun” (sequel to A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament) track “Ominous”) and “Say“ interweave heaviness with mesmerizing keyboards and unpredictable instrumental parts, as also heard on “The Night Within“. On “Cold Dreams”, Englund’s distinctive voice is accompanied by Jonas Renkse of fellow Swedish metal icons Katatonia, splicing the song with a stellar performance that underlines another intense facet of the album. In addition, Englund’s daughter Salina provides lush backing vocals that enhance the song’s dynamics even more. Ending on a quiet note, Theories of Emptiness depicts exactly what emptiness is about, first with the immersive “Our Way Through Silence“, and then with “A Theory Of Emptiness” which, with timid piano, makes us rationalize our innermost feelings. Navigating realms of darkness and light, Theories of Emptiness takes listeners on a carefully balanced roller coaster ride - showcasing EVERGREY's ever-evolving sound in 2024 and beyond.

Tom S. Englund, vocals, guitars
Henrik Danhage, guitars
Rikard Zander, keyboards
Johan Niemann, bass
Jonas Ekdahl, drums
Jonas Renkse, vocals (track 9)
Salina Englund, vocals (track 9)

For decades, Sweden has continued to produce the top names in heavy metal, regardless of sub-genre. Although debuting back in ’98, this Gothenburg outfit is only now receiving the international acclaim due them. Molding the various pedigrees of their countrymen into one distinctive sound: supreme musicianship prized by perfectionists, yet intense enough to win the blackened hearts of those more primordial, EVERGREY offer fans something truly different.

In these days of paint-by-numbers releases, where everyone mimics the elite purveyors of a particular style, EVERGREY’s music is something unique. Reviewers, and fans alike, typically use other bands as a reference point when discussing music. They sound like X, is a common refrain. Not so, EVERGREY. Built on a solid foundation of progressive metal, the multi-dimension voice of guitarist Tom S. Englund is what separates these Swedes. The lanky frontman possesses both a coarse, rasp and silky voice, equally suited for the band’s diverse repertoire. Regardless of which set of vocal chords he employed, Englund delivers an emotional performance, from pained, heart wrenching agony to bitter aggression. All of which can be heard on the dark new concept album, The Inner Circle.

“On the last album, we did Unforgivable, and that thought stayed with me, says Englund, about people abusing children, then hiding behind their religion, or whatever, to get away from the law. It´s despicable. It makes me so mad, like I could kill someone. Seriously. We actually thought about doing this concept for the last record, but there was too little time, to really get into the subject. We don´t want to accuse someone, without knowing what we´re talking about. This isn´t about bashing Christianity, it´s about bashing fanatics, people who try to convince others to their way of thinking. Society today wants someone to tell them how/what to think. Our (concert) t-shirts are going to say, I am my own God, God walking.’

As with the success of their previous release, Recreation Day, Englund and guitar partner Henrik Danhage, have again taken on producing duties for The Inner Circle. The results are stellar, the best sounding EVERGREY disc to date. This new opus also features the recording debut of the young new drummer Jonas Ekdahl. Ekdahl was Evergrey’s drum tech and was quick to jump behind the kit when Patrick Carlsson decided to leave the band last year.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO